Governor Appoints Two New State Transportation Commissioners

For Immediate Release

Governor Appoints Two New State Transportation Commissioners

New commissioners will represent central, southern Utah in prioritizing UDOT projects and deciding how funds are spent  

Donna Law (Photo courtesy SUU)

Larry Ellertson (Photo courtesy Utah Local Governments Trust)


SALT LAKE CITY (May 12, 2017) – Gov. Gary R. Herbert has appointed former Utah County Commissioner Larry Ellertson and Southern Utah University administrator Donna Law as new members of the Utah State Transportation Commission, replacing J. Kent Millington and Gayle McKeachnie, whose terms of service on the Commission have expired.

Gov. Herbert also designated Ellertson as Commission Chair, a position held by Millington since early 2016.

The governor’s action now awaits state senate confirmation.

Once confirmed, Ellertson and Law will serve as part of an independent advisory Transportation Commission that prioritizes UDOT’s state-wide projects and decides how funds allocated for transportation by the state legislature are spent.

Both new commissioners bring considerable background and experience to the Commission. In addition to work on the Utah County Commission, Ellertson has served as mayor of Lindon, Utah; president of the Utah League of Cities & Towns; chairman of the Provo/Orem Chamber of Commerce; and chairman of the Utah Transit Authority Board of Trustees. Law is executive director of the Michael O. Leavitt Center for Politics & Public Service at Southern Utah University. She has served as the university’s director of Government Relations and in several capacities associated with the Utah Shakespeare Festival. She has also been a member of the Utah Arts and Museums board and chair of the Cedar City/Brian Head Tourism and Convention Bureau.


Media Contact:
John Gleason
UDOT Public Information Officer
Cell: 801-560-7740

One thought on “Governor Appoints Two New State Transportation Commissioners”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *